Blair Waldorf-ing It: Be a girly Gossip Girl in Manhattan-ready feminine fashion

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

_dsc0067

— Scroll down to the bottom of the post for outfit details —

Sometimes, when I open my wardrobe doors and gaze at the rack of clothes I’ve worn a million times, the first thought on my mind is, WWBWW? That is, What Would Blair Waldorf Wear?

Anyone who’s watched ‘Gossip Girl’ knows that Blair, the Manhattanite everyone secretly loves, is a lot of things. She’s sweet, scheming, and sometimes sardonic, but most of all, she’s stylish. She’s the stuff of preppy girl dreams: collared shirts, ballet flats, hairbands, tailored everything

So, today I decided I’m Blair Waldorf-ing it. I’ve got the structured coat, the skirt, the shirt-and-sweater combo, the bow-themed accessory…it’s all happening.

 

close-up

 

west-bridgford-park2

 

My last post featured my raspberry butterfly DeFacto sweater, and this time, I’ve got my plum top. Berry shades are the perfect non-neutral colour for winter and I’m loving them right now. They inject a hint of brightness, but they’re safe enough if you’re the kind who shies away from ‘loud’ colours like red or pink.

This one, from Laura Ashley, is actually just a long-sleeved top, but it’s roomy enough to use as a second layer so I’ve credited it as a sweater. Also, how sweet is that ribbon detailing on the neckline?

 

_dsc0077

 

aldo-bag-champneys-nail-polish

 

I adore this nude bag from Aldo and its bow accent. I bought it a couple of years ago and I’ve carried it everywhere since: university, the airport, on a shopping trip… It’s roomy and stylish, which is basically everything anyone wants from a bag. The style is so 1950s (which is the best fashion decade, in my opinion) and chics-up any outfit because it’s so feminine and ladylike.

 

_dsc0071

 

I also love this white shirt (a wardrobe must-have) from DeFacto that I’ve used as an under-layer. It’s great for layering, and it’s the first one I’ve found that doesn’t bunch up under a sweater and look bulky. A baggy shirt just adds on the pounds and it doesn’t look good, so thanks a ton, DeFacto!

If you want more shirts like this, DeFacto’s got so many different colour options. Check them out here!

 

 

_dsc0179

 

img_1167

 

OUTFIT: ShirtDeFacto Sweater – Laura Ashley / SkirtAtmosphere at PrimarkCoat – Jane Norman / TightsBootsFlats – Dorothy Perkins / Bag – Aldo Lipstick The Body Shop / Nail Polish – Champneys

Leave a Reply

